Monster Energy AMA Supercross Race

The Monster Energy AMA Supercross race is a part of FIM World Championship.

If you are unfamiliar with the world of motorcycle racing, you are probably scratching your head wondering what all these abbreviations stand for.

FIM stands for Federation of International Motorcycling. It is the global governing organization of motorcycle racing, headquartered in Mies, Switzerland.

FIM consists of 111 national motorcycle federations. FIM’s premier championship is called FIM Motorcross World Championship. Motorcross is a form of off-road motorcycle racing held at enclosed off-road tracks.

AMA is an abbreviation for American Motorcyclist Association. Its supercross race is one of 65 FIM’s World Championships.  Supercross is a version of motorcross where races are being held indoors. 

The AMA Supercross race series begin in early January and continues for 4.5 months, until the middle of May. Races mostly take place in baseball and football stadiums. Each race requires around 500 truckloads of dirt and includes different soil conditions ranging from hard-packed to sandy. 

Monster Energy AMA Supercross races are geared towards TV spectators as its target market.

There are three classes of motorbikes participating in Monster Energy AMA Supercross races: 450cc Class, 250cc West Class and 250cc East Class. The AMA Supercross series consist of 17 rounds for the 450cc and 8 rounds for each of the two 250cc classes.

Every round in the series includes 3 races: 2 heat races and a consolation race. In the 450cc class each race is 8 laps, in the 250cc races there are 6 laps.

The popularity of motocross and supercross has been growing steadily all over the world starting from 1970’s. Today in the United States, only Nascar Races are more popular than Monster Energy AMA Supercross races, making AMA Supercross the second most popular form of motorsport in the country.


Tony Stewart calls the NASCAR Sprint All-Star race a disaster

Tony Stewart calls the NASCAR Sprint All-Star race a disaster

Tony Stewart, a three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in an angry spat has called last Saturday's All-Star race, a disaster. Talking to FOX Sports during the race, Stewart said that he was unhappy with NASCAR and that the contest was the most "screwed up" All-Star race he had ever…

Lewis Hamilton- Formula One Champion

Lewis Hamilton- Formula One Champion

Lewis Hamilton currently holds the Formula 1 Championships for the years 2008, 2014, and 2015. This year, he is ready to defend his title once again. The British racer from England was born on January 7, 1985 and since the age of ten approached Ron Dennis, the McLaren team principal to tell him,…

Daytona 500 2016 winners

Daytona 500 2016 winners

Daytona 2016 just took place in February, and it was so explosive that everyone is still talking about it. Many new competitors surprised everyone this year, and many old ones proved that they still have what it takes to be winners. If you did not watch the entire race, this is what you need to…

Five categories of car racing

Five categories of car racing

There are millions of auto racing fans all over the world. Almost every week we hear about a new race, a new competition or a new driver who is better than everyone else. Here are five categories of car racing: Formula Racing. This is probably the most popular type of race for a single driver, and…

Pocono CEO Idalsky Gives It A

Pocono CEO Idalsky Gives It A "50-50" To Indycar Returning Next Year

Pocono Raceway hosted IndyCar for the first time in 24 years in 2013. At the end of the three-year contract, CEO Brandon Idalsky hopes to figure out if the numbers stand well to allow another season. After a pretty successful first year of contract, ticket sales were not as great for the last two…